41 comments on “Life as an Electrical Engineer

  1. Pingback: Life as a Bible Camp Counselor « Pete Magete Blog

  2. Pingback: Site Visit in Fairbanks « Pete Magete Blog

  3. i love this post, it made me fill better as an electrical engineer in Uganda.
    Kind of working in a manufacturing firm, but dream of a coorprate job one time……..

    • Hi there!
      I am writing from PowerUSB, in order to introduce my company and seek an arrangement to publish reviews of our products on your website. PowerUSB has launched a line of smart power strips targeting both consumer and industrial markets.
      Would you be interested to cover our products on your website as product reviews or thru an introduction post? We would be happy to send you four models of products for free. You can try and test them out before writing the review and keep it for your personal use as a complimentary gift from PowerUSB.
      We are not asking any guaranteed positive review, you can try our products for free and publish your honest opinion about various features and functions of our line of power strips.
      Moreover, if you would like to join our affiliate program and promote the four models of our products, we can also discuss about that.
      Please visit our website for more information about PowerUSB and our product line at http://www.pwrusb.com
      I hope you will be interested to work with us in this regard. Looking forward to working with you soon.

      Best Regards,

      Sarah Bradford
      Brand Marketing Manager, PowerUSB
      Web: http://www.pwrusb.com
      E-mail: sarah@pwrusb.com

  4. Pingback: Journey to False Pass « Pete Magete Blog

  5. We have recently launched a print magazine for engineering students of India. we would like to have permission to reprint your blog post”Life as an electrical engineer”. We hope it will give some perspective about professional life to students.

    Regards
    Pooja

  6. Pooja,

    That’s great! I would love you to reprint my post, and you absolutely have my permission. As long as you give Pete Magete Blog it’s due credit for the post and post my blog’s web address, I would be honored to have my post published. Let me know if you would like any more info about me, the author. You can contact me at peterchristensen34@gmail.com.

    Regards,

    Pete Magete

  7. Hey Pete

    I was wondering if you won’t mind sharing your educational background? I’m curious because your line of work is exactly what I want to do. Maybe you could make a new post detailing your college experience. I’m currently studying Civil Engineering at Michigan State but might switch majors to give me the background I need for power engineering.

    Thanks

    Mark

    • Mark,

      I studied for four years at the University of Minnesota. I declared Electrical Engineering my major at freshman orientation and stuck with it through the thick and the thin. So my degree is a Bachelor’s of Electrical Engineering. They actually didn’t emphasize this type of electrical engineering (consulting) at all in any of my classes, but it still qualified me enough to get into this line of work at an entry level. You’ll find that what you end up learning on the job is both far more valuable, and not very similar to what you learn in school. By the way, I’m really glad your football team beat the Badgers two weekends ago.

      Thanks for reading,

      Peter

  8. Pingback: small jobs

  9. Pingback: New Beginnings « Pete Magete Blog

  10. In essence civil engineering consultants pattern and oversee the guidelines of projects that adhere to structural integrity, aesthetics, and functional value. — Suite 202

    • Well, obviously what market you get a job in would be a large factor in deciding that, but I’d say for consulting, you’re looking at anywhere from low 40’s to low 50’s for a starting salary. But for electrical engineering in general, you could range to up over 60 thousand if it’s for the right company. Generally speaking, engineers don’t quite have the earning potential that doctors, lawyers, or even professionals in high finance, but they do make a comfortable living that you really can’t complain about.

  11. I’m an electrical engineering student at ncsu. This blog is very inspiring in a simple way. Thanks for taking your time and sharing.

  12. Hey Peter,

    I am Anjana..After working in a call center for so many years i got married to an electrical Engineer..The way you narrated your “life as Electrical engineer” is very inspiring for the upcoming professionals. I am also in my way to learning autocad so that i can help my husband. We have started a small electrical consultancy named “Kaizen Technologies”. I need your advice or opinion on how to improve the company..How i go about marketing my company etc.. Thanks for your time.

    Thankyou
    Anjana

    • Hey Anjana,

      Thanks for your kind words, and thanks for reading. I’m not sure how much I could help you with marketing your company, since that’s not my area of expertise (I stick to the technical side of things, mainly) but I’d be happy to give you some ideas if I knew a bit more info. If you’re interested, just shoot me an email at peterchristensen34@gmail.com and let me know about what it is your company specializes in, where you’re located, services you provide, etc. and I’ll give it my best shot.

      Regards,

      Peter

  13. I also went to school for electrical engineering and I love my job, I am happy that I got into the electrical field of work, thanks for your article I am happy to know there are ‘others’ like me out there :)

  14. I’m currently in college and I really want to be an electrical engineer as well! I know your job is comfortable, but what if you wanted to move up and work on bigger projects? What is it hard to find a job, and are you also looking at graduate level studies? Thanks!

  15. Pingback: 7 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Being an Electrical Engineering Consultant « Pete Magete Blog

  16. This is a “shot in the dark”. My hobby is collecting rocks and minerals. Primarily I collect agates, jaspers, petrified wood and dinosaur bone. I like cutting them into slabs that average 1/8 inch thick. I then polish them to a “wet glass” shine. Many of my pieces have amazing internal patterns that will only be seen with bright light coming from behind them. I am mechanically/electrically ignorant, so I’m hoping someone out there can help. Frequently I display my slabs at shows, museums, libraries etc. I would like to be able to display some slabs in a case with a light source behind them that turns on automatically for 15-30 seconds-ish, to allow viewing the internal beauty and turns off for 45-60 seconds to show the external beauty. This display would have to be able to run 8 to 10 hours over at least 3 days. I think battery operated would make it easier to set up, but if it would have to be plugged in, I could adapt. A display about 18 to 20 inches wide and 12 to 15 inches tall would be great. I am not the only lover of agate slabs. A reasonably priced ($100 – $150) unit, would sell well. Thank you in advance if you’ve read this far. I look forward to hearing from someone willing to take this project on.

    JJ Johnson

  17. Loved the article. I myself have just received a job offer as an Electrical Design Engineer. The offer is quite a step up from my current role as a CAD Technician, so have been contemplating whether I will be able to manage the step up.
    However, I feel sure to accept the offer now, after reading your blog, of which I have found inspirational and very interesting.
    Regards

    • Thank you for reading and your kind words. With your background as a CAD technician (especially if you worked on electrical jobs) you should be able to make that transition very well, I’m sure. Good luck!

  18. Over the past few years have had to work odd jobs. I got hurt at work and have had to have 2 back surgery’s to fix my back. I am currently working with Vocational Rehab to get a good job that i can do with this disability. But they have asked me to talk to 3 people in this field and for the past few weeks still haven’t found anyone that will help so i hope someone here can answer my questions. They will only help me get started A.A.S but i would like to get my B.S but the information they need is A.A.S Please email me with the information if you would. my email is john2007@outlook.com.

    job title
    company name
    your name (first name is ok)

    What are the things you do on a typical day
    What are the minimum req for the job licenses, tools, degrees
    What is the entry level job title and salary range for this job
    what is the outlook in this field for job growth

    I would thank anyone and everyone that can help with this i have asked company’s this info but none has written me back yet. I at all possable try to keep at a accosiate level since vocational rehab doesnt help with B.S. which is most of my problem seems all the jobs want a B.S and doesnt apply to me. Thank you and live with love John

    • I’ve had some people ask some things like this to me before and then they fail to respond to me when I help them, so I’m wary of spam. Respond again so I know you’re for real and I’ll be glad to help.

  19. Thanks for the post man. I’m 20 and currently looking at what I want to do for a career and I’ve always been interested in electrical engineering. This really helped.

  20. Hi, Peter!
    I genuinely enjoyed reading your post about the typical life of an electrical engineer- which is saying something since most personal posts concerning any type of engineering tend to be rather dull and disheartening. I’m 16 years old and currently a junior in a high school that focuses on many types of engineering. We take classes involving the basics of aerodynamics, architecture, civil engineering, etc. I’m currently in a Digital Electronics engineering class and our starting assignment was to research “What is Electrical Engineering?” (Hence, googling and coming across this page.)
    If I’m quite frank, i’m more of a humanities gal myself, but the school is well-known for its top academics, so I stick around and practically endure the engineering classes. This post, however, rid me of common, misconstrued ideas I had about engineering careers. So, to say that I’m thankful you posted this (roughly 4 years ago) is an understatement. I know that you probably no longer think about this post, but after reading the comments others have left, it’s pretty clear you have and should continue to make an impact with your writing, or even as a mentor in those interested in this field. Because I, for one, greatly appreciated the sincerity of this post. Thank you for your honesty! I only wish I had the same interest in sports as you have so I could endlessly read all the posts you’ve written.
    Best wishes!
    -Lenie

    • Wow, thanks for all of the encouragement. This post is by far my most popular so I actually haven’t forgotten this post at all. If you’re not interested in sports, that’s okay, because I write about a lot of other subjects too. Actually, I wrote two other posts about my career that I linked to in this post.
      Anyhow, I hope you consider electrical engineering as a career, but even if you don’t, I’m glad you enjoyed my writing. Thanks so much for reading, and if you ever had a request on a subject for me to write on, I’m always looking for blog ideas. Oh yeah, and feel free to share my post/blog with your class, haha.
      Peter

Leave a Reply

