4 comments on “Golden Gopher Seniors 2011

  1. Magoo, this might be your best blog post yet. Your thoughts on Blake and Al mirror mine.

    However, there is one glaring omission. The fact that Al completely let the team down last year due to his academic ineligibility. It simply is not that difficult to attend class in college.

  2. Ryan,

    I’m surprised that you would say that this is my blog post, but I certainly take it as a compliment. I actually thought it was rather sloppy since I wrote it while watching NBA action yesterday, but it needed to be written.

    I realize that I left out that part about Al’s academic eligibility, but that was intentional. I wanted this to be a “ducky and bunny” type tribute, rather than a “tough love covenant” evaluation of those guys (I also didn’t mention that Blake had a pretty nasty shooting slump his sophomore season). I also remember hearing that Al appealed the NCAA for his eligibility citing “family problems” for why he struggled in school. I wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt since he has been a good student and has stayed out of trouble otherwise, so maybe it was just a fluke and there were really some serious issues in his family. I watched BTN’s “The Journey” from when he was a freshman, and it showed him at a banquet honoring athletes for their academic accomplishments, and he made some sort of honor roll, so I think he’s normally a good student. I could be wrong, but that’s my explanation.
    Thanks for reading.

    • Perhaps your best wasn’t the correct choice of words. It was very much in line with my view point of both players.

      As far as Al’s academic problems are concerned, it sounded like he was just trying to get another year any way possible. When I had a class with him he showed up about 50% of the time and I have heard from others that he has quite a bit of difficulty attending class on a regular basis. Hey, maybe he does well and gets good grades, but unlike you I am not going to give him the benefit of the doubt. I really like Al and think he is a great player, but he really let the team down last year.

      By the way, you have obviously been listening to a little too much Common.

  3. Well, I listen to all 3 hours of Common every single day, so maybe that is too much. But if it truly was too much, wouldn’t I be much more bitter towards Al and Blake and grilled them for all of their failures? Wouldn’t that be the “tough love covenant” approach? I almost never listen to PA, but I definitely approached this piece much more like he would.

    Sounds like you had more inside knowledge to Al’s study habits than I did. Maybe you’re right.

Leave a Reply

