3 comments on “6 Ways to Love Single Women in Your Church – A Rebuttal

  1. Pingback: New Writing Gig | Pete Magete Blog

  2. Your rebuttal is interesting considering you are not a single Christian female. I found the article you are reviewing to be very comforting and identified with about 99% of it. Being a single boy is very different than a single female. We are very relational and long for that intimate companionship. I am a 29 year old female with a corner executive office and a single homeowner (a whole house with a yard, not just a condo, so I’m not just sitting around waiting on prince charming as some may think is the MO for single women) and I wish I had someone to share it with. Yes, the comforts of not having to argue what show to watch is slightly convenient, but I’d trade that for a husband any day. Just because you don’t understand and are not ready to make a lifelong commitment doesn’t mean you should mock someone who is and is longing for it.

    • Jess,

      First of all, thanks for reading, and more so, thanks for commenting.

      Your comment is well thought out and your points are well received. Most of the people that read my blog are friends/acquaintances of mine, so they realize that while there is plenty of truth behind my opinions, I’m actually being satirical and over the top on purpose for comedy’s sake. If you didn’t pick that up, I guess maybe I need to work on my writing, but also, you simply don’t know me, and if you haven’t been reading all of my work I could see how you wouldn’t realize it. I too would like to find someone to spend my life with if I am fortunate enough to meet someone who will put up with me, but for now I am quite content as a single man.

      That being said, she was a bit ridiculous, don’t you think? She was kind of begging to be mocked with how over the top she was at points. I am a guy that fails to relate in many ways, and maybe her points really resonated with you so you didn’t see the humor in it.

      To summarize, I’m not about the business of making women, or anybody, feel worse about themselves, I just like to write and make jokes. This blog post idea was actually a reader’s request, and he loved it. Actually, this is probably the post I get the most positive feedback for (by women, not just men if you can believe it). I apologize if I hurt your feelings, but I stand by my jokes. I actually can relate to a few of the things she says since I am single, but I try to laugh about my own situation too. Thanks again for reading and commenting, and I hope you’ll continue reading. And actually, can I ask how you found this blog?

Leave a Reply

